first week of summer school done!

Just made it through my first full week of summer class. I can’t say that being in class (and just one class) for 5 hours a day is awesome, but so far it’s been much more enjoyable than the 3 hour classes I had last semester. It’s a Public Health Nutrition Management course, and so far we’ve been talking about social issues related to health and the role of the public health system.  I was going to write a post of the effect of community and social support on health, but I don’t really have the time for that right now. I need to pack and get ready for my fun weekend!

But to back up to this afternoon – I did all my errands on foot this afternoon (have I mentioned how much I LOVE living in a place where I can walk everywhere??). I walked to Whole Foods for lunch (thanks again parents for the gift card!) and then to the gym for a comprehensive workout sans my trainer, then to the mall and library to pick up some guidebooks for an upcoming trip to our nation’s capitol:

image

Really weird thing happened both at the gym and walking home afterwards: I got some cramping/twinging in my toes and calves. I’m not sure why this is; I rarely get any type of muscle cramp, but when I attempted to jog on the treadmill, it was like there were aliens in my legs pinching certain muscles to cramp up, and was not pleasant. Reminded me of the last 1/2 mile of the Country Music Half-Marathon in Nashville, where I attempted to run my fastest to the finish line, only to be stopped by terrible calf cramping. What the heck? It wasn’t low electrolytes due to fasting or sweating, and the only thing I can think of was my just eating a decadent lunch at whole foods? Oh well… I cannot resist their pesto portabella pizza slices when I walk past Smile

So now I am off to pack and get ready for a fun weekend with Matt. Hope you all enjoy your weekend – make it a good one!

Leave a Reply

