carrboro food truck rodeo

I spent my afternoon in Carrboro, Chapel Hill’s red-headed hipster sibling. After my personal-training session, where I learned that my lower abdominal muscles are sadly lacking, I headed to a local coffee shop and worked on some essay questions related to cost/quality/access of the US healthcare system. Fun stuff.

As 6:30 rolled around, I met my friend Heidi (the other RD in my cohort of classmates) and her adorable son Max and headed to the Carrboro Farmer’s Market (proclaimed to be one of the best in the country… by Martha Stewart!). They were starting up their Wednesday markets this week, and kicked-off the season with a food truck rodeo. There was representation from Boxcarr Farms, Baguettaboutit, Monuts Donuts, Chirba Chirba dumplings, and the Triangle Raw Foodists. I selected the fast-moving line for Boxcarr Farms, and had a delicious dish of spaetzle with pea shoots, swiss chard, farmers cheese, and wonderful flavor. Well worth the money! Also worth it to hear everyone’s pronunciations of spaetzle 🙂

Dessert was a strawberry balsamic donut from Monuts Donuts – delicious! In the words of 4 year old Max “It was sweet!”.

The fun and games are over now… time to finish that healthcare cost essay… 🙂

Leave a Reply

