Today’s thoughts

Google Documents

It makes me feel old, but I don’t remember the luxury of google docs when I was in undergrad. But now that I’m back in school, it seems like this is the way to conduct all group projects. And is just me, or does it remind anyone else of the old TV show Ghostwriter when you can see someone else in your group typing in the document??

Pretty Baby, Ugly Baby

It seems like a lot of my friends and “friends” (= bloggers that I follow and feel like I know, but obviously have never met) are having babies these days. Seriously, everyday there are more baby pictures taking over my facebook news feed! And while some are totally adorable and make me smile, some are just not attractive. At all. And it kinda makes me feel bad for their parents / my friends.

So then I wonder why some babies are born without the gift of physical attractiveness. I guess some of them grow out of it and become cute, because the proportion of ugly babies to ugly adults doesn’t seem to be constant. And do their parents realize that they’re ugly? Probably not. So I suppose we should all learn to smile and wave at all babies, regardless of level of cuteness, and not react as did Kramer 🙂

Canine Canines

This is regarding your dog’s dental care. Harley went to the vet today for a dental exam. Apart from having a lot of teeth worn down to nothing, the others all are in good shape…. except for one infected bad guy who needs to come out. So there goes $500….. yuck. Harley is grateful that I have a few work opportunities this semester, so he doesn’t have to go out and get a job 🙂

Read ‘em and Leave ‘em

And to end this random collection of thoughts… I have had an explosion of magazine subscriptions in 2012, thanks to air miles that aren’t enough to buy a plane ticket, but can buy me lots and lots of magazines. I now subscribe to Time, Everyday with Rachael Ray, Better Homes and Gardens, Real Simple, New York Magazine, Health, and something else I’m forgetting. The stack on my nightstand is getting insane! The rare moments I get for leisure reading have been consumed by books (and I have stacks of those too!), and the magazines were worried about their impending neglect.

Then I had a thought. Cardio machines at the gym are a great use of magazine-reading time. It’s also a motivator to get me to the gym. And the best part? It forces me to stay on the machine until I go through the magazine cover-to-cover, after which I can leave the magazine at the gym for the next exerciser. Win-win! No more piles of magazines around my apartment, and no more pounds creeping up on me… (hopefully!)

 

Leave a Reply

