today’s notes

A few things that have happened today:

My biochem textbook arrived in the mail
Biochem will likely be my most challenging class this semester. Lucky for me, I have two more biochem classes after this one to savor.
So… our first exam is two weeks from today, and I have yet to really start studying. I’ve been rationalizing this procrastination by the fact that my textbook still hasn’t arrived in the mail, so how can I possibly study?
And then I opened my mailbox today and there it was. Wrapped in brown paper, rolled up and stuffed sideways in the mailbox. Ready to be helpful. I hope! We’ll see how successful my studying goes. I foresee many flashcards in my future….

I started back up with my personal trainer
My last training session was December 6. So yeah… that’s been 6 weeks. Now, I haven’t been completely sedentary in that time. There were regular dog walks, a nice bike ride with my dad, and a few sessions with free weights. So getting back to a “real workout” won’t be that bad, right?
Wrong! We started with a few sets of squats, and then added the cable-weight-machine-thing and my quads completely locked up. hahaha. Sad.

I’m still emit “old” vibes
All of you who know me are well aware of my “old lady” persona. The fact that I wear matronly clothes, enjoy friday craft nights, am almost always fast asleep by 11pm, avoid alcohol and foul language, and lack in the hair and make-up department. Oh, and how about that AARP has already made me a membership card…. TWICE!
Well today continued the trend. A friend discussed with me his new idea for a tattoo. My disapproval for tattoos has always been clear, but evidently he had really thought this one through and felt it wouldn’t be a meaningless/regrettable choice of body art. Quote of the day? I just feel like if I can get your approval on this tattoo, that I’ll be able to get my mom to approve.
Classic.

Whole Foods sells clementines in bulk
So maybe this isn’t a huge deal to you, but it is for me. I HATE having to buy 3 or 5 pound containers of clementines, only to find that I took home a bad bunch. While I love sweet, juicy, clementines, I feel like lately there have been more dry, sour ones instead. I always think to myself, Gee, why can’t we just buy them by the pound, like every other fruit? And then… I stopped at Whole Foods today on my way home from the gym, and it was like they read my mind. There they were – a huge pyramidal display of Spanish clementines, just 99 cents a pound. I picked half a dozen or so that looked like winners to me, and have them sitting on my counter (in Pyrex… of course).

image

And so… that’s my day in a nutshell! Hope you’ve all had a wonderful Wednesday 🙂

One thought on “today’s notes

  1. ma says:

    buying SPANISH clementines just increased your carbon footprint IMMEASURABLY.

Leave a Reply

